About the Foundations of Utility and Risk Conference

The Foundations of Utility and Risk Conference (FUR) is an interdisciplinary conference bringing together decision theorists, behavioural scientists, economists, psychologists, mathematicians, management scientists, medical and health scientists, philosophers, statisticians, and other researchers. Currently, it is one of the most prestigious conferences in behavioural science.

The history of FUR Conference dates back to 1982 when Norwegian behavioural scientist Ole Hagen together with Maurice Allais (who subsequently received the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of in 1988) organized the first FUR Conference in Oslo. Since Oslo, the FUR Conference was held in in Venice (1984), Aix‐en‐Provence (1986), Budapest (1988), Durham (1990), Paris (1992), Oslo (1994), Mons (1997), Marrakech (1999), Torino (2001), Paris (2004), Rome (2006), Barcelona (2008), Newcastle (2010), Atlanta (2012), Rotterdam (2014), and Coventry (2016). Over the course of the FUR history, 6 Nobel laureates have given talks at the conference. We are very pleased that 2018 FUR Conference will take place in York (UK) at the University of York. The conference is planned from June 25, 2018 to June 28, 2018.

FUR traditionally covers a wide range of areas including decision theory, behavioural game theory, models of stochastic choice, behavioural/experimental economics and psychology, judgement and decision making, social psychology, neuroscience, to name a few.

Historically, the international scientific committee of the FUR conference included:

Mohammed Abdellaoui, HEC Paris
Kenneth Arrow, Stanford University
Manel Baucells, University of Virginia Darden School of Business
Denis Bouyssou, University of Paris – Dauphine
David Budescu, Fordham University
Alain Chateauneuf, Paris School of Economics
Michèle Cohen, Paris School of Economics – Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne
Jürgen Eichberger, University of Heidelberg, Germany
Larry Epstein, Boston University
Peter Fishburn, AT&T Bell Laboratories
Paolo Ghirardato, Universita di Torino
Itzhak Gilboa, Yale University, HEC Paris
Christian Gollier, Universite de Toulouse
Simon Grant, University of Queensland
Glenn Harrison, Georgia State University
John Hey, University of York
Daniel Kahneman, Princeton University
Edi Karni, Johns Hopkins University
Peter Klibanoff, Northwestern University
Mark Machina, University of California, San Diego
Massimo Marinacci, Universita Bocconi
Barbara Mellers, University of Pennsylvania
Aldo Montesano, Universita Bocconi
Bertrand Munier, IAE de Paris
Robert Nau, Duke University
Drazen Prelec, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Andrew Postlewaite, University of Pennsylvania
John Quiggin, University of Queensland
Aldo Rustichini, University of Minnesota
Rakesh Sarin, UCLA
David Schmeidler, Tel Aviv University
Uzi Segal, Boston College
Chris Starmer, University of Nottingham
Jean-Marc Tallon, CES – Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne
Kip Viscusi, Vanderbilt University
Peter Wakker, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Martin Weber, University of Mannheim
George Wu, University of Chicago

2016 – Coventry

Important Dates: October 15, 2015: Submissions open October 26, 2015: Registrations open December 15, 2015: Submissions close February 1, 2016: Decisions communicated March 25, 2016: Registration deadline June 27-30, 2016: FUR 2016 Conference dates

2014 – Rotterdam

2012 – Atlanta

2010 – Newcastle

2008 – Barcelona

2006 – Rome

2004 – Paris

2001 – Torino

1999 – Marrakech

1997 – Mons

1994 – Oslo


1990 – Durham

1988 – Budapest

1986 – Aix-en-Provence

1984 – Venice

1982 – Oslo